A year that flew by. 

Today my wonderful little boy turns one! I can’t believe it’s been a year. Everyone always tells you time flies, but it’s still amazes me.  “The days are long, but the years are short”. 

A year ago right now, I had just got to the hospital. What a whirlwind. Everything was going smoothly, early pains were coming, but tolerable.  After being checked out, we went down to the cafeteria for some lunch. Having contractions while I ordered a sandwich, things still felt ok. As we walked back to the labour and delivery unit, my water broke waiting for the elevator. Then came the hellish, pelvis crushing, insanity causing pain.  Well short story shorter, I was quickly set up in a room, and 16 minutes later my little guy was here. Love him so much.  

 

On a side note, the next time I was in that same elevator it got stuck for 5 minutes. I thank my lucky stars everyday that everything went safely with the delivery of my two boys. I never wanted “natural” or “drug free” deliveries. (I’m a nurse, I love my meds.) But both boys came way too fast. Thank goodness the real pain was only a few minutes. 

I just can’t wait to see what joys this next year brings for us. 

Now, I get ready to head back to work after a wonderful year off. I’m ready. I like my job, and look forward to doing it again. It’s a different way to use my brain. I live my kids, but a balance is nice, and I do enjoy time away from them.  Hopefully all goes well with the transitions. 

One thought on “A year that flew by. 

  1. Turn around and it’s grade school, blink twice and it’s high school and then boom you are empty nesters. It really does fly by although there are days that take forever! I do miss the little little years and even the early school years. Teen agers are a challenge but for us the real challenge was living with adult children — way harder than a 2 year old! I know that seems crazy but it’s how we found it.
    Really enjoy those moments of cuddling and insanely messy toy rooms. Hug them every day.
    Bernie

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

