6:30 am

I never thought I’d be happy to be “sleeping in” until 6:30 am. 

My kids are not great sleepers. My older boy Michael (3) rarely gets up in the night, but bedtime shenanigans are getting to me. He is also walking into our room anywhere from 5:15-6:30. That’s why today, for a weekend, 6:30 is pretty good.  Thank goodness the mornings are getting lighter.

backyard about 7 am



Thomas (11 m) is still working on sleeping all night. He’s done it about 5 times in his whole life.  It’s frustrating but so often I just found it easier to nurse him than let him cry. The sleep books say not to, and I understand now why dad trying to cuddle him just doesn’t work. What did anyone do before sleep training books?? Ugh, always feel like nothing works. 

At least the little guys can keep themselves busy for a few minutes in the mornings. I can have my coffee, and vent a little. And feel tired. For the rest of my life. 

2 thoughts on “6:30 am

  1. You think they will never sleep through the night. Eventually they will but some take way way longer to do so. Our daughter was cholicky and never slept well and still doesn’t to this day. We found it easier to let her sleep with us for a few years and then trained her to sleep in her own bed. Our son slept through the night from four days old and still sleeps well. Just do what feels right and don’t get caught up in some perfect guide book.

    Like

Leave a Reply

