Home away from home

Since I was a very young tot, I’ve spent a lot of time at Wakaw lake in the summers. My aunt had a cabin there, and the memories of go way back.

IMG_1972
A few years back my aunt ( who never married) decided to sign the cabin over to me. She didn’t want to wait til she died and force me to deal with a hassle of a will I guess.
So we took over paying the taxes, but honestly it still kind of remains “her” cabin.
I love the place, but it stresses me out.
It needs so much work, and it hasn’t been re decorated ever. It is very 70’s. Orange. Gold. Orange and gold shag carpet. Wall to wall, including the bathroom.
I can’t imagine losing it, but unless we put a huge chunk of change into it, it’s going to fall apart. The thought of selling it seems inviting at times. There is a lot we could do with the money. However, that wouldn’t be able to happen until my aunt died, as she would probably kill me if I sold it.
I have so many memories of being a teen out in Wakaw. We had some amazing parties. So many fun nights. So many bon fires.
It’s hard to enjoy it the same now. It’s small, there isn’t a lot of room for the kids.
The beach used to be relaxing. Now it’s loud. So many jet skis and wakeboarders. ( I sound old and bitter don’t I ??)

I just don’t really know what to do. I’m sure in a few years, we’d really enjoy it again, but right now it seems not worth it.
We’ll see.
Here’s a few of my fave pics from Wakaw lake.

IMG_2264

IMG_2233

IMG_2290

IMG_2193

IMG_1766

IMG_2182

IMG_1642

IMG_1796

IMG_8403

2 thoughts on “Home away from home

  1. Don’t rush to any decisions here — there will be a time with your children that going to the lake and creating memories that will be like yours. It is supposed to be a cabin — not a show home! It is another home and therefore quite a bit more work but perhaps it can be the place to enjoy some beautiful views with your family.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

